Skip to content

Meaningful Conversation With My Oldest Son #139

July 31, 2010

Setting: Cuddling in his bed before he goes to sleep for the night.

Lighting: The soft glow of a nightlight.

Background: He is 4 years, 9 months old. The room is quiet save for our gentle breathing.

Him: “Mama, do you eat your boogers?”

Me: “No, Peanut, do you?”

Him: “Yeah, I like ’em.”

Me: “Sounds kinda gross to me, Buddy.”

Him: (excitedly) “No! You should try ’em! They’re good!”

Me: (silent for a moment) “Well, Bud, I don’t think I will because they do have germs in them. I think you should think about germs and maybe not eat your boogs any more.”

Him: “Okay, Mama, I’ll think about it.”

(a quiet moment passes)

Him: “Mama?”

Me: “Yes, Babe?”

Him: “I love you, Mama.”

Me: “I love you, too, Peanut.”

Him: “Sweet dreams.”

Me: “Sweet dreams, Peanut.”

Conclusion: Being a parent is sometimes so weird.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 5:50 am

    There are so many times when I can’t believe what words have come out of my mouth…and even more times when I can’t believe what words have come out of their mouth! This conversation would fit into my house as well. Even if it is gross!

Leave a Reply

