Skip to content

Thursday…closer to Saturday

August 6, 2010

(I should really stop framing this week in reference to Saturday. I work on Saturday, something I look forward to because it’s only one day a week–hardly overwhelming, it’s something I love & am good at–massage, and…I get to be with interactive adults!)

Busy busy busy day yesterday. Busch Gardens with a neighbor of my in-laws and her son. It was nice finding a nice mama to be with. This is something that has changed for me since I had kids. I’ve always liked people & people like me, but it’s never been important to form connections. Wanting my kids to learn how to have relationships and to hang with other “nice” people (that’ how I seem to categorize people like us, who I want us to be, and who I want to be near my children) has been the impetus in how much I enjoy and value new relationships.

J (the neighbor’s son) is 3 1/2-right between my boys. He’s a nice little guy, but also a “boy” in the stereotypical view…and so are my boys! Crazy, runnin’ around, jumping, bashing, falling lunatics! Neighbor J has some type of speech/sensory issue that is still undiagnosed. What was very interesting to me was how kids don’t have all kinds of expectations. Neighbor J doesn’t really talk–he jabbers and mumbles. His mom patiently urged him to repeat the names of all the animals we saw. “Tuuuuurrrrrr-t’llllll. Can you saw turtle?” And he did! They did great together. He just can’t really talk on his own.  No worries for the kids! I did explain to Jamison that J is a good friend and a nice boy, that he understands everything we say to him, but he just uses different words to talk back. Done. Let the playing and running and jumping and chasing begin! Good lesson. Things don’t have to be a certain way, or as they’ve been in the past to work out just fine. It’s IS all good. Today…like in 45 minutes…off to meet other friends for a day at Sun & Fun–a water park in the area. Sheesh! I can’t wait to go to work…to rest!!!

(PS-A great reminder from a blog I read. My personal word for this year is CHOOSE. It’s easy to forget in the thick of things. Reads like this are good supports to something I truly want to embrace.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 4:33 pm

    It is great how kids have no preconceived notions. I am so glad that you had a fun day. It does sound exhausting though. Since I am writing this on Friday, I can say…ONLY ONE MORE DAY until Saturday for you! Yippee!

  2. August 11, 2010 12:51 pm

    My boys enjoy being around friends too and it’s always nice to have company. We’ve never been to Busch garden but i bet my boys would love it

Leave a Reply

